The Giver

by Lois Lowry
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars

Category: Newbery

Personal Evaluation: This is one of my all-time favorite books. Every time I re-read it, I see something new. The first time I read it there was the shock of the plot and the ending, and now I enjoy watching the ending unfurl.

What might interest children: Dystopian novels are very popular right now, and this is arguably the original children’s dystopian novel. One of the things that made the biggest impression on me was the absence of color and music in Jonas’ world. It really made me think about why those things might have been removed and other things I took for granted, and I think kids will like the challenge too. I think they will also enjoy recognizing pieces of the world they do know, like comfort objects.

4 thoughts on “The Giver

  1. Pingback: Son « Check Out My Book Rack

  2. Pingback: The Giver graphic novel by P. Craig Russell | Check Out My Book Rack

Leave a comment